Wednesday, April 9, 2014

RMFW Writer of the Year Nominees!

The nominees for RMFW's 2014 Writer of the Year Award are...

*drum roll please*

Shannon Baker, Christine Jorgensen, and Terry Wright


Shannon Baker, author of the Nora Abbott Mystery series involving murder, environment and Hopi Indians, can often be found backpacking, skiing, kayaking, cycling, or just playing lizard in the desert. From the Colorado Rockies to the Nebraska Sandhills, the peaks of Flagstaff and the deserts of Tucson, landscapes play an important role in her books.  Tainted Mountain, the first in her Nora Abbott Mystery Series, is set in Flagstaff, AZ, where she lived for several years and worked for The Grand Canyon Trust, a hotbed of environmentalists who, usually, don’t resort to murder. She lived twenty years in the Nebraska Sandhills, where cattle outnumber people by more than 50:1. When Shannon moved to Boulder, CO, Nora followed her and Broken Trust is set in the gorgeous Rocky Mountains. Shannon now makes her temporary home in Nebraska and believes her job description is now itinerate writer.

Christine Jorgensen is the author of the mystery series Stella the Stargazer, about an astrologer and lovelorn columnist in Denver, Colorado, and writing as C.T. Jorgensen, the Casey Jansen series, about a police detective in Ridgewood, Colorado.

There’s nothing mundane in the writing world of Terry Wright.  Tension, conflict and suspense propel his readers through the pages as if they were on fire.  Published in science fiction and supernatural, his mastery of the action thriller has won him international acclaim as an accomplished screenplay writer. When he's not writing or judging contests, he's the editor at TWB Press.  He lives in LakewoodColorado, with his wife Bobette and their Yorkie, Taz.

1 comment:

Julie Luek said...

This is great to see-- congratulations to the very fine finalists. It takes a lot to get here.